Tags

, , ,

How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked,
Nor stand in the path of sinners,
Nor sit in the seat of scoffers!
But his delight is in the law of the Lord,
And in His law he meditates day and night.
He will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water,
Which yields its fruit in its season
And its leaf does not wither;
And in whatever he does, he prospers.

Psalm 1:1-3 New American Standard Bible

I was just reminded of the reason we home-schooled from kindergarten through high school.  There was a day when I had very serious doubts about whether I should be home-schooling my kids.  I was impatient and frustrated and thinking I was the only home-school mom who would ever be that way with her kids.  I ran outside crying at my ineptitude and thinking my kids would have to go to public school.  There was no way I could afford private Christian school.

There was a picnic table outside under a tree.  I had my Bible in hand and tossed it on the table and just sat and cried for a few minutes.  When I came to my senses, I opened up the Scriptures so I could hear what God had to say to me.  I landed on Psalm 1 and then Proverbs 1.  I dried my tears, closed my Bible after a prayer of gratefulness and walked back into the house to never question God’s will for us to home-school again.

Sidenote: I do not mean to say that all public schools are horrible, sinful places filled with horrible and sinful people.  There are many great teachers and there is no fault in them.  My problem is with what the government was doing to our schools.  Our legislators had made it impossible for these good Christian teachers to share their wisdom.  That’s not what my children needed.

Dr. Jay Wile who is the author of the science courses we studied posted a link on Facebook this morning.  10 Things You Should Know About Homeschool Moms by Kris Bales.  She’s adorable and she seems to have a lot of fun doing what she does.  Kudos to her!  The article is right on the money.  While she didn’t mention the Lord in her article, she is a believer bent on obeying God’s command for her family knowing full well that she is not “worthy” and most certainly not perfect.  Those are the people God uses most dramatically.

Today, if you’re feeling unworthy and a little less than perfect, get ready (through Scripture and prayer) because God is about to use you in a powerful way!

homeschool_momFreedom is a concept taught to us by Scripture.  Our children need to learn what real freedom is and what it looks like from the author of it…God.

John Adams is right.

Our kids must learn the accurate history of America and it's Godly principles

“Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6 Our kids must learn the accurate history of America and it’s Godly principles

